Upon the accession of Charles V the episcopal coinage, which had started under Bernold (1027-1054), came to an end. Nevertheless, it wouldn’t be until 1567 before Utrecht finally got a provincial mint. When all the still existing mints were decommissioned in 1806 the mint in Utrecht remained and became the official mint of the Kingdom of Holland. After 1815 it continued to be the mint of the Kingdom of The Netherlands.

Showing all 10 results